Who We Are
This ten classroom elementary school was established in the Fort Garry School District No. 2047. It became part of the Fort Garry Municipal School District No. 2361 in 1959 then, later that year, part of the Fort Garry School Division. The building was designed by the architectural firm of Prain and Ward and built at a cost of $145,000. The school opened on September 1, 1955. Three years later, six more classrooms were added at the cost of $90,000. The school converted to French Immersion in the fall of 1987 and was renamed École Crane.
In 2004, a garden in front of the school was dedicated to late Principal Elizabeth Irene Bennett, and a commemorative plaque was affixed.